Rehabilitation: overview

A choice of therapy is only valid when it is correctly implemented. Therefore selecting a therapy should take into account the proposed method, acceptance by the patient and their family, the care put into place by the medical team (doctor, ENT, speech and language therapist...). One of the main criteria for successful auditory rehabilitation is early intervention.

Early Intervention

In infants and children, partial or profound hearing loss has systematic repercussions on at least one constituent of spoken language. Healthy auditory function is required for the development of speech. Immersion into the world of sound allows infants to develop phonological, lexical and syntaxic abilities as well as accessing one or more spoken languages.

In adults, in the general case of a progressive hearing loss (such as presbycusis), it is important not to wait too long before treatment. The period preceding the accentuation of the hearing loss should be used to reduce the ongoing effects as much as possible. When it cannot be cured, a deficit can be compensated for. This chapter will therefore focus on two main points: substitution of sound via external and implanted hearing devices, and functional substitution carried out by speech and language therapists.

Indications and medical prescriptions

Depending on the etiology of the hearing loss and its repercussions, the specialized medical team can select conventional hearing aids (air conduction) or those that are implanted into the skull (bone conduction), the middle ear (mechanical amplification) or the cochlea (electrical stimulation).

Ear, Nose and Throat specialist (ENT)

A diagnosis of hearing loss is carried out by an ENT specialist and no other doctor, after a general examination and more specific examinations of the middle ear, with at least one audiogram. From there, a prescription for hearing aids is only valid, in theory, when delivered by an ENT specialist as his colleagues are not trained to do so. Once the diagnosis of hearing loss has been determined, the etiology must be found. The examination and the audiogram can lead to further tests (such as an MRI). Once the clinical picture has been well defined, the best solution for the patient is suggested and can be either surgical, medical or via the use of hearing devices. The choice of therapy is undertaken with the patient after outlining the pros and cons of each option.

Audiologist

In the case of conventional hearing aids, after receiving a script from the ENT specialist, the hearing impaired patient sees an audiologist. In a first visit, hearing loss is evaluated using specific tests relevant to hearing aid fitting (see the section "Audiometry"). After these initial tests, a hearing aid is selected and fit to each individual patient. The audiologist is required to test and control the benefit bestowed by the hearing aid and actively participates in rehabilitation using the device. Trialling the hearing aid is essential before it is adopted in the long term. Finally, the audiologist ensures the patient follow-up, controls the hearing aids and checks the patient's hearing ability in combination with the prescribing doctor and, if required, the speech and language therapist.

Speech and language therapy

Speech and language therapists provide a hearing impaired listener with the required elements for good speech comprehension. Hearing is not enough: understanding the sound signal can be difficult for listeners who have lacked certain acoustic information for a long period of time. The sound that is provided by the hearing aids does not always enable the listener to understand what is being said. In fact, the new sound can sometimes be classified as 'noise' and ignored. Language is made up of linguistic signals which link concepts to acoustic images. Speech and language therapy aims to work on these points to help a hearing impaired listener make sense of the auditory world. In some cases, speech or lip reading can be used to reinforce the message.

Limitations

The auditory system can not be returned to perfect function via a hearing aid. At best, the aim is to optimise the functionality of a sound to residual hearing. Hearing aids are less efficient when no residual hearing is present. Additionally, despite the existance of directional microphones and complicated algorithms for sound processing, understanding speech in noise remains limited.

Last update: 16/07/2014 12:25 pm

Réhabilitation : généralités

Conception :
Avec la participation de : Diane Lazard

Un choix thérapeutique n'est valable que s'il est correctement appliqué. Ce choix doit tenir compte du moyen proposé, de l'acceptation par le patient et sa famille, de l'accompagnement mis en place par l'équipe médicale (médecin, audioprothésiste, orthophoniste). Un des critères fondamentaux à la réussite de la réhabilitation auditive est la précocité de sa prise en charge.

Prise en charge précoce

Chez le nourrisson et l'enfant, la privation de toute ou partie de l’audition a des répercussions systématiques sur un, au moins, des constituants du langage oral. L’intégrité de la fonction auditive est nécessaire au développement la communication orale. L’immersion dans le monde sonore permet au nourrisson de développer ses capacités phonologiques, lexicales et syntaxiques, et d’accéder à une(des) langue(s) orale.

Chez l'adulte, dans le cas général d'une baisse d'audition progressive (presbyacousie par exemple), il est important de ne pas trop attendre avant d'être pris en charge. Il est nécessaire d'utiliser la période qui précède l'accentuation du trouble auditif pour en atténuer le plus possible les effets. Quand on ne peut pas guérir, on peut compenser un déficit. Deux points seront alors abordés dans ce chapitre : la suppléance instrumentale par les aides auditives externes et implantées, la suppléance fonctionnelle grâce au travail des orthophonistes.

Indications et prescriptions médicale

En fonction de l’étiologie de la surdité et de son retentissement, l'équipe médicale spécialisée peut choisir des aides auditives conventionnelles (conduction aérienne) ou particulières à ancrage osseux (conduction osseuse), l’implant d’oreille moyenne (amplification mécanique) ou l’implant cochléaire (stimulation électrique).

L'oto-rhino-laryngologiste

Le diagnostic de surdité est fait par ce spécialiste et par aucun autre médecin, après un examen clinique général et des oreilles moyennes, et au minimum un audiogramme. Ainsi une prescription d’aides auditives n’est, en théorie, valable que délivrée par un ORL, ses confrères n’étant pas habilités à le faire. Une fois le diagnostic de surdité posé, il faut en trouver l’étiologie. L’examen et audiogramme du patient peuvent mener à demander des examens complémentaires (PEA, sacnner, IRM…). C’est une fois le tableau clinique bien défini que la meilleure solution pour le patient est proposée. Elle peut être chirurgicale, médicale ou faisant appel à des aides de corrections auditives. Le choix thérapeutique se fait en accord avec le patient après exposition des différentes possibilités et de leurs avantages.

L’audioprothésiste

Dans le cas des aides auditives conventionnelles, après prescription d’appareillage par un médecin ORL, le patient malentendant est pris en charge par un audioprothésiste. Dans un premier temps, celui-ci complète l’évaluation de l’audition par des tests spécifiques dans un but prothétique (voir "explorations fonctionnelles"). Dans un second temps, son rôle est de choisir, adapter et délivrer un appareil auditif. Il doit évaluer et contrôler le bénéfice de l’appareillage et participer activement à l’éducation prothétique. Un essai de l'équipement choisit doit être obligatoire avant acquisition définitive. Enfin, l'audioprothésiste assure le suivi, le contrôle des appareils et des performances auditives du patient, et ce, en partenariat avec le médecin prescripteur et, si nécessaire, avec un orthophoniste.

L'orthophoniste

L’orthophoniste dispose d’un savoir-faire et d’un savoir-être en matière de communication orale qui permet au sujet sourd d'acquérir tous les éléments nécessaires à la bonne compréhension du langage. Il ne suffit pas d’entendre : la compréhension du message sonore peut s’avérer difficile pour des patients ayant été privés de certaines informations sonores pendant une longue période. Les sons restitués par les aides auditives ne suffisent pas à accéder au sens dans certains cas. En effet, ces nouvelles informations auditives peuvent être assimilées à du bruit. Le langage est constitué de signes linguistiques qui unissent des concepts à des images acoustiques, c'est en travaillant sur ces points que l'orthophoniste permet au patient d'appréhender correctement le monde sonore. Dans certains cas, un renforcement par apprentissage de la lecture labiale est nécessaire.

Limites

Le parfait fonctionnement de l’organe sensoriel ne peut pas être restitué par un appareillage auditif ; au mieux, on optimise la fonctionnalité des reliquats auditifs. Moins ces reliquats sont nombreux, moins l’aide auditive est performante. De plus, malgré l’existence de microphones directionnels et de nombreux algorithmes de traitement du signal, la compréhension de la parole dans le bruit reste limitée.

Dernière mise à jour : 16/07/2014 12:25