Hearing Aids

The first hearing aids go back to the discovery of electricity. As you can imagine, they were quite bulky! Since then, technological advances have enabled the miniturisation of power sources and other components. Signal processing techniques have also enabled clearer signals to be passed to the listener. Today, there is a large variety of models which can be used for all types of hearing loss.

First, some history!

The first electrical hearing aids used a carbon microphone, which was used to convert variations in acoustic pressure into changes in the electrical resistance of some granules of carbon located between two electrodes. In other words, the carbon granules were deformed under acoustic pressure and produced an electric current. By adding a battery and a headset, this system allowed an acoustic signal to be amplified in certain frequency regions.

It was Graham Bell who once again provided technical innovation. He was a teacher in a school for the hearing impaired and had married one of his students. He eventually invented the telephone whilst trying to find a solution to compensate for his wife's hearing loss. He failed in that particular endeavor, but at least the telephone was a success! Researchers of the time realised that there would be no futher progress without improvements in both electronics and the analog transformations of the current that they produced.

The invention of valve (or 'tube') amplifiers in the 1930s marked the beginning of a new period. Small variations in tension arising from a microphone could control the flow of electron across a lamp in a vacuum. By connecting a number of tubes together in series, the signal could be amplified by up to 70 dB! There were obvious drawbacks relating to the size of the system and its need for power. Tube amplifiers require two power sources: one to heat the filament and a direct high voltage source of around 30 Volts.

It wasn't until the beginning of the 1950s that transistors appeared in the first hearing aids. Because of this improvement, only a single, low voltage source (1.3V) was needed. As technology improves, the size of hearing aid components continues to decrease and signal processing becomes more and more sophisticated, offering increasingly effective devices.

This figure shows that there have been numerous technological eras, which have been spread quite evenly over time. There is always a delay between the arrival of these technical innovations and their use in clinical applications, mainly due to the specific requirements of hearing aids, which don't allow the use of standard components. Electronic engineers have to address all of the following issues: device miniaturisation, the need for the device to operate under low voltage (1.3V), managing background noise and creating specific functions (today these are the algorithms of digital devices).

Figure:

Cornet acoustique --> Ear Horn

Appareils electriques --> Electrical devices

Tubes Electroniques --> Valve amplifiers

Transistors --> Transistors

Circuit integres analogiques --> Analog integrated circuits

Microprocesseurs --> Microprocessors

AA Numeriques --> Digital Hearing Aids

Better Hearing...

Which reflex do we instictively use to hear better? We cup our ear with our hand! This has three functions:

  • Focussing more sound energy into the ear canal
  • Improving the signal to noise ratio by reducing the noise coming from behind us.
  • Causing the person that we are speaking with to speak clearly (louder, slower, with greater articulation and concentration).

This principle also enables the resonance of the outer ear to change to favour certain frequencies. A hearing aid needs to emulate these characteristics.

Air conduction hearing aids

Currently, there are two main families of air conduction hearing aids: Behind the ear ('BTE') and in the ear ('ITE'). These families can be subdivided depending on their specifics (shape and technology).

A hearing aid mainly fulfils the three following functions:

  • Conversion of sound into electrical signals
  • Processing these electrical signals
  • Reconversion of these electrical signals into sounds

A page dedicated to these functions can be found later in the subchapter: signal processing.

Behind the ear hearing aids

Historically, this is the most classic shape. All of the required components for signal processing are contained within a case that is worn behind the listener's pinna. This case is linked via the loudspeaker to a plastic tube which transmits the treated sound to an earmould that is custom-fitted to the  listener's ear canal. These devices can benefit from numerous microphones and controls on the top of the case (such as volume control, switches, etc...). In general, the greater the device's power, the larger it is (larger speakers require larger batteries!).

A variant of the BTE uses a thin acoustic tube and standard earpieces which replace the custom-fitted earmould. These are used mainly when the hearing impairment is not severe.

More compact models appeared in the 2000s. By placing the speaker inside the ear canal, the size of the external case can be reduced. These models, known as receiver in the canal (RIC) or receiver in the ear (RITE) hearing aids, reduce the likelihood of feedback because the microphone and the speaker are separated. These models can therefore be used to provide a greater sound pressure close to the eardrum.

In the ear hearing aids

These are the smallest hearing aids. All of their electrical components are housed within a resin case which is made specifically to fit the shape of the ear canal and pinna of the listener. Due to their small size, they are not appropriate for all patients: Good eyesight and dexterity are recommended so that they can be inserted without difficulty. They also use the smallest batteries available, which need to be changed after 5 to 6 days of use. Although they only have a single microphone, these devices can use the natural advantages provided by the subject's pinna (directionality, resonance, etc...).

ITE hearing aids exist in three types:

  • Complete in the canal (CIC)
  • In the canal (ITC), a little larger than the CIC, the external part containing the microphone and the battery is located at the edge of the tragus.
  • Standard in the ear (ITE) aids spread further out into the pinna. Although less esthetically pleasing that CICs, they have larger batteries and can contain more components (such as induction coils).

Last update: 07/09/2013 7:09 pm

Aides auditives

Les premières aides auditives remontent à la découverte de l'électricité. Vous imaginez sans difficulté qu'elles étaient un peu "encombrantes". Depuis, la technique a permis de miniaturiser les sources d'énergie et les composants. Les progrès de l'informatique ont également permis de diminuer les distorsions. Aujourd'hui, le choix de modèles est large et il y a une forme pour tous les types de surdité.

Un peu d’histoire !

Les premières aides auditives électriques utilisaient un microphone à granules de charbon. Il permettait de convertir les variations de pression acoustique en variation de résistance électrique de la masse de charbon située entre deux électrodes. Autrement dit, les grains de charbon se déformaient sous la pression acoustique et produisaient un courant électrique. En ajoutant une pile et un écouteur, ce système permettait de restituer un signal acoustique amplifié dans certaines zones de fréquences.

Pour la petite histoire, c’est Graham Bell qui va, encore une fois, faire accélérer l’innovation technique. Il était professeur dans une école de sourds-muets et il avait épousé une de ses élèves. Il a finalement inventé le téléphone en voulant trouver une solution pour compenser la perte auditive de sa femme. L’objectif n’était pas tout à fait atteint mais, au moins, le téléphone était bien là. Les chercheurs de l’époque avaient réalisé qu’il n’y avait pas de progrès possible sans améliorer l’électronique et la qualité de transformation analogique des courants produits.

L’invention du tube à vide, dans les années 30, marque le début d’une nouvelle période. De petites variations de tension provenant du microphone contrôlent un flux d’électrons à travers une lampe à vide. En connectant plusieurs tubes en série, on pouvait amplifier le signal jusqu’à 70dB ! Évidemment, il y avait un inconvénient concernant la taille du système et son alimentation. Les tubes à vide exigeaient deux sources d’alimentation, une pour le chauffage du filament et une source haute tension continue d’environ 30 Volts…

C’est au début des années 50 que les transistors apparaissent dans les premières aides auditives. Grâce à cette mise au point, une seule source d’alimentation basse tension (1,3V) était nécessaire. Au fur et à mesure des avancées technologiques, la taille des composants de l’aide auditive ne cessera de diminuer et le traitement du signal deviendra toujours plus sophistiqué.

Cette figure permet de se rendre compte qu’il y a eu différentes grandes époques technologiques, assez régulièrement réparties dans le temps. L’avènement de ces innovations technologiques a toujours été en retard sur les applications grand public. La raison principale est que les exigences spécifiques aux aides auditives ne permettaient pas d’utiliser les composants standards. Les ingénieurs doivent en effet relever des défis comme : miniaturiser les appareils, les faire fonctionner sous des tensions très faibles (1,3V), maîtriser la consommation et le bruit de fond, et créer des fonctions spécifiques (aujourd’hui : les algorithmes des appareils numériques).

Mieux entendre…

Quel réflexe adoptons-nous instinctivement pour mieux entendre ? Nous plaçons la paume de notre main en conque derrière le pavillon de l’oreille ! Ce geste réflexe assure trois fonctions :

  • Focaliser un peu plus d’énergie sonore à l’entrée du conduit auditif.
  • Améliorer le rapport du signal (frontal) au bruit (perturbations venant de l’arrière).
  • Inciter son interlocuteur à soigner son élocution (intensité, vitesse, articulation, concentration).

Ce principe permet également de modifier les résonances du conduit auditif externe pour favoriser certaines zones fréquentielles. Une aide auditive doit donc reprendre ces caractéristiques.

Les types d'aides auditives à conduction aérienne

Actuellement, il y a deux grande familles d’aides auditives à conduction aérienne : les contours d’oreille et les intra-auriculaires. Nous verrons plus bas que ces familles se divisent en sous-groupes en fonction des spécificités (formes et techniques) de chacunes.

Une aide auditive exécute en principe les trois fonctions suivantes :

  • La conversion du son en signaux électriques
  • Le traitement de ces signaux électriques
  • La reconversion de ces signaux électriques en son

Une page dédiée à ces fonctions est détaillée plus loin dans le sous-chapitre : traitement du signal.

Les contours d’oreille

Historiquement, c’est la forme la plus classique. Tous les composants nécessaires au traitement du signal sonore sont contenus dans une coque qui se place derrière le pavillon de l’oreille. Cette coque est reliée au niveau de l’écouteur par un coude auquel est emboité un tube en plastique pour conduire le son traité jusqu’à un embout réalisé sur mesure à la taille du conduit auditif du porteur.  Ces appareils peuvent bénéficier de plusieurs microphones et de commandes accessibles sur le dessus du boitier (potentiomètre de volume, commutateur etc). En général, plus l’appareil est puissant, plus sa taille est importante (il faut un écouteur plus puissant et donc une pile plus encombrante).

Une variante de contour existe en utilisant un tube acoustique fin et des dômes standards remplaçant l’embout sur mesure. Ils sont plutôt conseillés pour des pertes auditives légères à moyennes.

Des modèles plus compacts sont apparus dans les années 2000. En plaçant l’écouteur dans le conduit auditif externe, il est alors possible de diminuer la taille du boitier externe. Ces modèles, communément appelé RIC (Reciever In the Canal) ou RITE (Reciever In The Ear), permettent de diminuer le risque d’apparition d’effet Larsen puisque le microphone se trouve à distance de l’écouteur. Ces modèles peuvent donc délivrer une plus grande pression sonore proche du tympan.

Les appareils intra-auriculaires

Ce sont les appareils auditifs les plus petits. Tous leurs composants électroniques sont placés dans une coque en résine fabriquée à partir de l’empreinte du conduit auditif externe et de la conque du sujet. Du fait de sa petite taille, il ne convient pas à tous les patients. Une bonne vue et une bonne dextérité sont conseillées afin de pouvoir le manipuler et le placer sans difficulté. La pile est également la plus petite disponible, l’autonomie ne dépasse guère les 5 à 6 jours d’utilisation. Bien que ne disposant d’un seul microphone, ces systèmes profitent des avantages naturels du pavillon du sujet (directivité, résonances, etc).

Ces intra-auriculaires existent sous trois formes :

  • L’intra-canal CIC (Complete In the Canal)
  • L’intra-conduit ITC (In The Canal), un peu plus gros, sa platine (face externe contenant le microphone et la pile…) affleure le bord du tragus.
  • L’intra-conque qui déborde un peu plus dans… la conque ! Bien que moins esthétique que le CIC, il permet d’avoir une pile plus grande et peut embarquer plus de composants (bobine à induction par exemple).

Dernière mise à jour : 07/09/2013 19:09