Bone conductive hearing aids

Sound propagates in air to the eardrum where it is converted into a mechanical vibration by the tympano-ossicular chain. When this pathway is damages, bone conduction hearing aids can be used. By harnessing the natural conductive properties of bone, they allow the outer and middle ears to by bypassed and to stimulate the cochlear sensory cells directly.

Bone Conductive Glasses

Function

The microphone, processor and vibrator are situated along the arms of a pair of glasses. At the front, the microphone captures the sound and transmits it to the processor in the form of an electric signal. Then the processed and amplified sound activates the vibrator situated against the mastoid bone. The vibrator can be assimilated with a speaker that has had the membrane replaced by a plate that vibrates with the variations in electric current.

Indications

Although mainly designed to treat conductive hearing loss, this device can also be used for perceptual and mild or moderate mixed hearing losses where conventional air conduction hearing aids cannot be used (aplasia of the pinna and/or ear canal, chronic otorrhea, advances otospongiosis, otosclerosis or cholesteatoma)

Advantages and Disadvantages

The main advantage of this system is that it is completely non-invasive and easy to use. However, signal processing, the bandwidth and the power of the vibrator are all limited. Furthermore, the efficacy of these devices depends highly upon having good contact with the bone, the thickness of the overlying skin, and the pressure that the device can exert on the bone.

Bone Anchored Hearing Aids (BAHA)

Function

A titanium screw of a few millimeters in length is placed into the mastoid bone. BAHAs are composed of two components: the fixture anchored to the bone, onto which the abutment, which sticks out of the skin, is affixed. The microphone and microprocessor are connected to the abutment. In this way, the sound, transformed to processed vibrations, is transmitted directly to the inner ear via the abutment and the screw.

Indications

Like bone conduction glasses, BAHAs are only used when there is no benefit to using conventional air conduction hearing aids. However, some cases of conductive, perceptual or mild or moderate mixed hearing losses can be well treated with this device. It can be used in adults, but also in children from five years of age, who use a headband to maintain good contact between the vibrator and the bone.

BAHAs can also be used when surgery can either not be carried out in the middle ear, or would not provide any benefit to the patient. Finally, in the case of severe or profound unilateral hearing loss, the Contralateral Routing of Signals (CROS) system can be used to provide complementary information to the healthy contralateral ear.

Advantages and Disadvantages

The use of a titanium abutment reduces the risk of skin infection, and the fact that it is anchored into the bone limits the constraints linked to the thickness of the skin and the quality of the contact between the device and the bone. The use of a BAHA therefore confers improved sound quality and loudness over bone conductive glasses.

The main disadvantage is the need for surgery, although it is minor, and the need to take continual precautions to avoid infection. Furthermore, although the bandwidth and processing abilities are greater than in the non-invasive device described above, they remain limited.

Middle Ear Implants

Function

Like the two devices described above, sound is capture by an external microphone and treated by a sound processor. The difference is that the electric signal is relayed to a vibrator that can be one of two types:

  • Electromagnetic: When a coil surrounding a magnet is placed under electric tension, the induced magnetic forces cause the coil to move. In fact, when the current passes in one direction, the coil moves to the outside, and when the current changes direction the coil travels in the other direction. This is the same principle that is used in electrodynamic loudspeakers.
  • Piezoelectric: A piezoelectric element with the intrinsic property of deforming when placed under electric tension is used. By changing the current, the deformation (and therefore vibration) can be controlled.

These vibrators can be affixed at different locations along the ossicular chain: malleus, incus or to a piston if the stapes has been removed. In this way, the induced vibration amplifies the natural movements of the ossicular chain.

Indications

When conventional hearing aids cannot be used or will not show any benefit, the middle ear implant can be used as an alternative. It can provide relief to hearing impaired adults that have bilateral conductive, perceptual, or middle or severe mixed hearing losses that still have an intact ossicular chain.

Advantages and Disadvantages

The main advantage of the middle ear implant is that it amplifies the natural movement of the ossicular chain. As a result, the quality of the re-established hearing is improved over bone conduction devices.

However, the main disadvantage is the need for surgical intervention to affix the vibrator onto the ossicular chain, and the need for the latter to be intact for the device to work.

Last update: 24/12/2014 7:53 am

Aides auditives à conduction osseuse

Le son se propage dans l’air jusqu’au tympan puis il est transformé en vibration mécanique par le système tympano ossiculaire. Dans le cas où ce cheminement est rompu, on recourt aux aides auditives à conduction osseuse. En utilisant les propriétés naturelles de conduction de l’os, elles permettent de shunter l’oreille externe et moyenne et stimuler directement les cellules sensorielles de la cochlée.

Lunettes à conduction osseuse

Fonctionnement

Le microphone, le processeur, et le vibrateur se répartissent le long des branches d’une paire de lunette. En avant, le microphone capte le son et le transmet sous forme d’un signal électrique au processeur. Suite à cela, le signal traité et amplifié met en vibration un vibrateur appliqué en arrière sur l’os de la mastoïde. Le vibrateur peut être assimilé à un écouteur pour lequel la membrane aurait été remplacée par une plaque vibrant sous l’impulsion des variations de courant électrique.

Indications

Essentiellement destinées aux surdités de transmissions, ce dispositif peut également être préconisé pour des surdités de perception ou mixtes légères à moyennes pour lesquelles l’appareillage en conduction aérienne n’est pas envisageable (aplasie du pavillon et/ou du conduit externe, otorrhée chronique, otospongiose avancée, tympanosclérose, cholestéatome).

Avantages et inconvénients

L’avantage de ces systèmes et l’aspect non invasif et la facilité de leurs mises en place. En revanche, le traitement du son, la bande passante et la puissance du vibrateur sont limités. De plus, l’efficacité de ces dispositifs dépend fortement de la surface de contact avec l’os, l’épaisseur de la peau mais encore la force de serrage parfois insuffisante.

 

Aides auditives à ancrage osseux

Fonctionnement

Une  « vis » en titane de quelques millimètres est placée dans l’os de la mastoïde. Elle est constituée de deux parties : la fixture ancré sur l’os sur laquelle vient se fixer le pilier qui dépasse légèrement de la peau. Le microphone et le microprocesseur se positionne, quant à eux, sur le pilier. Ainsi, le son transformé en vibration est transmis directement à l’oreille interne via le système « vis-pilier » qui fait office de passerelle.

Indications

Tout comme les lunettes à conduction osseuse, l’appareillage conventionnel en conduction aérienne sera toujours privilégié s’il est possible. Sinon, certaines surdités de transmission, de perception ou mixtes légères à moyennes peuvent bénéficier de cette aide. Elle s’adresse à des adultes mais également des enfants dès l’âge de cinq ans par la mise en place d’un bandeau qui assure le contact entre le vibrateur et l’os.

Elle peut également être proposée lorsque la chirurgie de l’oreille moyenne ne peut être réalisée, ou risque de ne pas être efficace. Enfin, dans le cas d’une surdité sévère à profonde, elle peut être utilisée en système CROS afin d’apporter des informations complémentaires à l’oreille controlatérale saine.

Avantages et inconvénients

Le pilier en titane limite les risques d’infection cutanée et son ancrage dans l’os limite les contraintes liées à l’épaisseur de la peau, la surface et la force de contact avec la peau. De cette manière, le son restitué est de meilleure qualité et la puissance accrue.

Les inconvénients majeurs sont la chirurgie bien qu’elle soit légère et les précautions à prendre pour éviter les infections cutanées. De plus, la bande passante et les traitements du son sont limités même s’ils s’améliorent.

Les implants d’oreille moyenne

Fonctionnement

Comme les deux aides auditives décrites auparavant, le son est capté par un microphone externe puis traité via un processeur. A la différence, le signal électrique transmet l'information à un vibrateur qui peut être de deux types :

  • Electromagnétique : Lorsqu’on met sous tension une bobine dans lequel est placé un aimant permanent, les forces magnétiques induites engendrent le mouvement de la bobine. En effet, lorsque le courant circule dans un sens, les forces magnétiques repoussent la bobine vers l'extérieur, inversement quand le courant circule dans l'autre sens. C’est le même principe qu’un haut-parleur électrodynamique,
  • Piézoélectrique : Un matériau piézoélectrique à la propriété intrinsèque de se déformer lorsqu’il est sous tension. Ainsi, en gérant le courant on contrôle ses déformation et, par extension, la vibration.

Ces vibrateurs peuvent être fixé à différents endroits de la chaine ossiculaire : marteau, apophyse de l’enclume, branche descendante de l’enclume (le plus courant), ou encore sur un piston après avoir enlevé l’étrier. De cette manière, la vibration induite amplifie les mouvements naturels de la chaîne ossiculaire.

Indications

Lorsque l’appareillage conventionnel n’est pas envisageable ou non supporté, l’implant d’oreille moyenne peut être une alternative.  Ils représentent une opportunité pour les malentendants adultes atteints de surdités de transmission, perception ou mixtes moyennes à sévères bilatérales et pour lesquels le complexe tympano-ossiculaire est intègre.

Avantages et inconvénients

L’amplification des mouvements naturels de la chaîne ossiculaire représente le principal intérêt de cette aide auditive. Ainsi, la restitution des fréquences est meilleure.

En revanche, la contrainte majeure est la chirurgie nécessaire pour la fixation du vibrateur sur la chaîne ossiculaire, dont l’intégrité est essentielle pour l’efficacité de l’implant.

Dernière mise à jour : 24/12/2014 07:53